RC Groups

RC Groups
    Glow to Electric Conversions
        Discussion Sportster 60 Kit build Motor mount question with pic.

#1 -S- Nov 12, 2012 04:15 PM

Sportster 60 Kit build Motor mount question with pic.
 
1 Attachment(s)
Howdy all,

I'm tackling a Super Sportster 60 GP kit and I was looking at a few threads here and have a question.

This will be my first kit build adapting to electric.

Below is a pic, note the length of the spacers needed to achieve the required distance.

It requires a total of 2 inches total space.

I've seen this done an prefer this method to the "cage" mount but I'm slightly concerned that the weight might be too much to extend the spacers that far.

I bet the Balsa two inch spacer would still be lighter than the cage mount.

So I'm asking if I should perhaps make a Balsa Spacer to take up the two inches, use it with spacers and 4 bolts, or go with a Cage mount like this
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...p?&I=LXLCL5&P=

Any one try either of the options and what did you wind up doing?

Thanks - S

#2 Dereck Nov 13, 2012 08:24 AM

Any way you can extend the fuselage sides and ply doublers to support a new 'firewall' in the proper place for your motor? That way, you wouldn't need any extension mounts.

D

#3 -S- Nov 13, 2012 08:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dereck (Post 23256706)
Any way you can extend the fuselage sides and ply doublers to support a new 'firewall' in the proper place for your motor? That way, you wouldn't need any extension mounts.

D

Dereck,

I do not see why not, I had not thought of that (duh) that may be the best idea yet!

I'm at work but I have the plans here so I'll take a peak at lunch time.

- S

#4 CNY_Dave Nov 13, 2012 11:39 AM

-S-, is that an EMD 5055-580 motor?

#5 -S- Nov 13, 2012 06:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CNY_Dave (Post 23258281)
-S-, is that an EMD 5055-580 motor?

CNY-Dave,

Yup EMP 5055-580.... got any info to share :)

- S

#6 CNY_Dave Nov 14, 2012 12:54 PM

Heh, I was going to ask you what bearings it took, and where to get a spare prop adapter.
It's the same as the Turnigy Aerodrive XP motor with the same numbers.

If I find out I'll let you know.

#7 -S- Nov 14, 2012 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CNY_Dave (Post 23267548)
Heh, I was going to ask you what bearings it took, and where to get a spare prop adapter.
It's the same as the Turnigy Aerodrive XP motor with the same numbers.

If I find out I'll let you know.

Yea do so, that would be great, I bought it used it was not used much, but I noticed that prop adapter is not the same as others.... BUT I don't know if you have ever done Biz with Headsuprc.com (great folks) but this unit has the same specs with a slightly different can, I figured when I got to the point I'd call and see if they have or can get an adapter, they have them for the shaft end, so he might have or can get one.

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...h-06%29/Detail

Let me know what you find, this motor appears to be the best fit out of all the ones I have so I'm going to use it.


If you want me to tear it down and measure the bearings let me know it's easy to take apart.

What are you using it on? A SS maybe?
- S

#8 CNY_Dave Nov 14, 2012 04:30 PM

I bought a Global Hobby Fokker D-VII that had the motor in place already.

Ebay member Monstergogo sells the EMD motor, but not sure he has any parts, I asked about a bolt-on prop adapter and he sent me a link to a collet.

The adapter is availavble as a machined part to fit the motor into an FMS plane, but it's way too long, would need a threading die run down it, and has a hex portion that would have to be smoothed off.

That's my fallback, 15 bucks. For a bit more they will customize it.

http://smallpartscnc.com/index.php?r...product_id=128


Don't tear yours apart on my account, I'm just trying to line up the parts before I need 'em.

#9 -S- Nov 14, 2012 07:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CNY_Dave (Post 23269330)
I bought a Global Hobby Fokker D-VII that had the motor in place already.

Ebay member Monstergogo sells the EMD motor, but not sure he has any parts, I asked about a bolt-on prop adapter and he sent me a link to a collet.

The adapter is availavble as a machined part to fit the motor into an FMS plane, but it's way too long, would need a threading die run down it, and has a hex portion that would have to be smoothed off.

That's my fallback, 15 bucks. For a bit more they will customize it.

http://smallpartscnc.com/index.php?r...product_id=128


Don't tear yours apart on my account, I'm just trying to line up the parts before I need 'em.

Great site thanks for posting added to Fav's.

Holidays coming up, so my work bench has been shut down for family stuff :-)

Once i'm back in the game I intend to take it apart, and I'll get specs and send them to you as I'm like you good to know before hand where to get what you need before you need it!

Thanks - S

#10 CNY_Dave Nov 15, 2012 12:32 PM

Monstergogo has replied and confirmed that they do not have the bolt-on 'rotor end adapter' available.

#11 -S- Nov 15, 2012 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CNY_Dave (Post 23276537)
Monstergogo has replied and confirmed that they do not have the bolt-on 'rotor end adapter' available.

Good info even if bad, ok when I get to that point I will call Heads up and have him check out his and see if he can get spares.

Take care, - S

#12 blvdbuzzard Nov 16, 2012 10:36 PM

2 Attachment(s)
I have a Monster Power 60 mounted on stand offs. The tube is PEX tubing and the threaded rod is 10-24. I am swinging an APC 18X powered with a 6s 5500 battery. There is not a problem with this setup. Strong as any mount I could build out of wood.

Buzz.

#13 -S- Nov 16, 2012 10:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blvdbuzzard (Post 23289394)
I have a Monster Power 60 mounted on stand offs. The tube is PEX tubing and the threaded rod is 10-24. I am swinging an APC 18X powered with a 6s 5500 battery. There is not a problem with this setup. Strong as any mount I could build out of wood.

Buzz.


That looks real nice, I still like the idea.... I Have a some time to finalize the set up now that I know I need two inches how ever I do it.

I'll do some reading on the PEX tubing thank you very much for the pics!

- S

#14 blvdbuzzard Nov 17, 2012 01:35 PM

3 Attachment(s)
I have this mount in my Giles 202 with Monster Power 46, had it in my T-34 will be putting it in my Formula 3D. It is an easy to assemble mount. Here are few more pictures.

For this mount, the stand off's are over 2 inches. Mentor was over 3 inches and it was solid as a rock .

Buzz.

#15 killerstick Nov 17, 2012 03:18 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by -S- (Post 23251357)
Howdy all,

I'm tackling a Super Sportster 60 GP kit and I was looking at a few threads here and have a question.

This will be my first kit build adapting to electric.

Below is a pic, note the length of the spacers needed to achieve the required distance.

It requires a total of 2 inches total space.

I've seen this done an prefer this method to the "cage" mount but I'm slightly concerned that the weight might be too much to extend the spacers that far.

I bet the Balsa two inch spacer would still be lighter than the cage mount.

So I'm asking if I should perhaps make a Balsa Spacer to take up the two inches, use it with spacers and 4 bolts, or go with a Cage mount like this
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...p?&I=LXLCL5&P=

Any one try either of the options and what did you wind up doing?

Thanks - S



Don't use standoffs, much to long for that.
Use PVC pipe.
See pic's.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.