RC Groups

RC Groups
    Electric Heli Talk
        Discussion Align T-Rex 500esp Battery

#1 winndaddy Nov 10, 2012 12:49 AM

Align T-Rex 500esp Battery
 
I just purchased my first T-Rex 500. Whats the Optimum battery size for this heli? I've seen 6s 2600mah 45c for it all the way up to 3300mah. I don't want to buy something and then I finally get it and it dosen't fit, you know.

#2 Xrayted Nov 10, 2012 10:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by winndaddy (Post 23231101)
I just purchased my first T-Rex 500. Whats the Optimum battery size for this heli? I've seen 6s 2600mah 45c for it all the way up to 3300mah. I don't want to buy something and then I finally get it and it dosen't fit, you know.

2650s were the perfect balance on mine.

#3 Dejavu*Xion Nov 10, 2012 10:50 AM

For my 500 I run both 2800 And 3000mah. Depending on what 500 you have, If you opt for 3300 you may have to do a mod. I would stick with 3000mah or under. A great battery that i have found that never gets talked about are the "tiger" 2800mah 35c batteries you can find on e-bay..These batteries are awsome !!

#4 winndaddy Nov 10, 2012 01:56 PM

Oops, it took so long for me to get a answer I went ahead and ordered a couple of 3300mah 30c packs. The size is 137mm x 45mm x 35mm, and they weight 478g ( atleast that the specs advertised). From the looks of it they might fit. They were out of 40c. I would of rathered a higher c rating, but oh well. Its the GForce Elite series. They're cheap, and I've had good luck with them in the past.

What do y'all think?

#5 Dejavu*Xion Nov 10, 2012 07:34 PM

What 500 do you have ? Some 500's will take 3300mah wher as others wont without a frame mod. 30c will be fine.

#6 winndaddy Nov 10, 2012 07:43 PM

[QUOTE=Dejavu*Xion;23236729]What 500 do you have ? Some 500's will take 3300mah wher as others wont without a frame mod. 30c will be

The T-Rex 500 esp. Do you or anyone have a link to the battery tray mod just in case?

#7 Dejavu*Xion Nov 10, 2012 08:45 PM

I'm pretty sure the align esp would need a mod done in order to take a 3300mah battery. However before you do. Track down user Mhills in the large heli forum. He will know for a fact.
Here is a link showing how the mod is done. Its very simple, the only tool you need is a dremil with a cutting disk. http://www.mycoolheli.com/500mods/TrayMod/index.html



I had an hk500, And just running a 3000mah battery the mod was necessary. Nice thing about running a 3300mah battery is you get an extra min. of flight time. ;) :cool:

#8 Dejavu*Xion Nov 10, 2012 08:54 PM

Here is also a very good thread to read thru on the subject. http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=134045



Take note of post #4 for a good visual upon completion.

#9 winndaddy Nov 11, 2012 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dejavu*Xion (Post 23237332)
Here is also a very good thread to read thru on the subject. http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=134045



Take note of post #4 for a good visual upon completion.

Well guys, thanks for all the info. Its was much appreciated as always. I decided to cancel my order, take the safe route, and go with a few 2600 packs. Its a new heli and I just don't feel good about cutting into her just yet.

Thanks, Winn

#10 Dejavu*Xion Nov 12, 2012 12:12 PM

Can't say I blame ya..:)..cutting into one does seem harsh.

#11 zen@lanset.com Nov 25, 2012 11:00 PM

winndadday— FWIW I use dual hyperion 2200 3s wired to make 6s and it flies well though slightly tail heavy. I also use Zippy 3000 mah 6s and it balances about right with no frame mod. In either configuration mild aerobatics are no problem.

Incidentally, my 500 has the stock Align smooth can 1600 kv motor; when I fly 6 minutes all batteries come down with power left to spare. I am pretty sure I'll get 7 minutes, as I gradually set the Tx for longer flights.

P.S.: 6.5 minutes is no problem for the 2200's or the 3000's!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.