RC Groups

RC Groups
    Engines
        Discussion Engine Test Stand

#1 jwellsy Oct 06, 2012 06:13 PM

Engine Test Stand
 
I need to build an engine test stand. I'm thinking of drilling a hole in cinder block to mount it to. I want to use an old 72 radio system on the stand and a gas tank tucked out of the way.

Can you guys share a pic of your test stand or plans for a stand design?

Thanks

#2 ken78cvx20 Oct 06, 2012 07:31 PM

Test Stands
 
http://http://www.rcgroups.com/forum....php?t=1613045

Check out some of these

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1613045

#3 tacx Oct 06, 2012 08:34 PM

Why a radio set up on a test stand? All you need is a manual throttle control.

#4 LowlyElevated Oct 07, 2012 10:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tacx (Post 22932333)
Why a radio set up on a test stand? All you need is a manual throttle control.

Becuase he wants to sit back in his folding chair and watch it break in. Standing up behind it is way overratated

#5 GeetarJoe Oct 08, 2012 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Waffleman (Post 22941370)
Becuase he wants to sit back in his folding chair and watch it break in. Standing up behind it is way overratated

wHAaT?!??!! I CANT HEAR YOU! TOO MANY YEARS OF STANDING BEHIND ENGINES WHILE BREAKING THEM IN!

#6 Brutus1967 Oct 08, 2012 04:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GeetarJoe (Post 22947173)
wHAaT?!??!! I CANT HEAR YOU! TOO MANY YEARS OF STANDING BEHIND ENGINES WHILE BREAKING THEM IN!

Euh... sure it's from breaking in engines? not from guitar amps being turned up too much? :D

Brgds, Bert

#7 tpasztor Oct 08, 2012 04:03 PM

Why do it on the ground when you can do it in the air.

#8 LowlyElevated Oct 08, 2012 04:20 PM

Becuse if you do it in the air and the engine decides to quit at the most unfortunate moment, suddenly you have balsa spliters instead of an airplane.
If you do it on the ground end the engine dies, nothing happens to your precious model.

#9 GeetarJoe Oct 08, 2012 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brutus1967 (Post 22947214)
Euh... sure it's from breaking in engines? not from guitar amps being turned up too much? :D

Brgds, Bert

no.. i mean yes. :D

#10 jwellsy Oct 09, 2012 09:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tacx (Post 22932333)
Why a radio set up on a test stand? All you need is a manual throttle control.

Might as well get some use out of one my many old 72mhz radio systems.

#11 kbozarth Oct 09, 2012 01:38 PM

Just say no to test stands.

Kurt

#12 LowlyElevated Oct 09, 2012 06:21 PM

Why is that? I would rather have a new or problematic engine die on the stand instead of in my plane and cuase me to have an unexpected meeting with the ground.

#13 kenh3497 Oct 10, 2012 04:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Waffleman (Post 22947371)
Becuse if you do it in the air and the engine decides to quit at the most unfortunate moment, suddenly you have balsa spliters instead of an airplane.
If you do it on the ground end the engine dies, nothing happens to your precious model.


When the engine quits in the air does balsa lose it's integrity? :confused: ;) I've had many dead stick landings over the years and have yet to loose a plane because of it. The plane will still fly, YOU have to change your method of flying. Maybe it's all those years of 1/2A and Quarter Midget racing where we always landed dead stick that taught me to land, sans engine power:confused:

Breaking in an engine in the air is the best thing you can do for your engine. I only run on the ground long enough to get a steady reliable idle. Usually no more than two or three tanks of fuel.

Respectfully,

Ken

#14 LowlyElevated Oct 10, 2012 04:52 PM

I have seen a few planes lost because they couldn't make it back to the runway without power. Once an engine is running reliable, then it goes in the plane, even if its not fully broken in. If it keeps dying, it stays on the stand until it is reliable.

I have a 30 year old K&B 61 that is almost brand new, and It is going to stay on the stand until it starts running the way it is supposed to. That is just the way I do things.

I don't mean to say that you are wrong and I am right, though. I will do it my way, you can do it yours.

#15 kenh3497 Oct 10, 2012 08:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Waffleman (Post 22965879)
I don't mean to say that you are wrong and I am right, though. I will do it my way, you can do it yours.

You hit that nail squarely on the head.:) Everybody has their way that works for THEM. We all make it to the end, in the end:D

Ken


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.