RC Groups

RC Groups
    Fuel Plane Talk
        Discussion Using a lipo to power a RX

#1 SohoR1 Sep 18, 2012 07:14 PM

Using a lipo to power a RX
 
I'd like to power my RX with a lipo instead of a nimh for my nitro planes.

I've got a few planes varying in size from a GP Cherokee, a Big Stik 60, and a GP P-40 Warhawk. I'm just not sure what size battery I should be using, and the BEC or ESC/BEC combo.

Will this combination work?

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=13925

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html

Thanks for your help!

#2 rcshirt Sep 19, 2012 08:46 AM

a lipo and a bec will do the trick. just like a power box set up for 3d planes.

where do you fly?

#3 jymz Sep 19, 2012 09:01 AM

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html

Just use this and forget the BEC

#4 SohoR1 Sep 19, 2012 10:20 AM

I fly at SparksRC in st petersburg, fl.

Does that battery have the correct connector to plug into my spektrum receivers?

#5 rcshirt Sep 19, 2012 02:46 PM

it says it has a jr adaptor. so it will fit a spektrum. just make sure the servos can take that voltage.

#6 SohoR1 Sep 19, 2012 02:56 PM

how do I make sure that the servos can take that voltage? Wouldn't a BEC do that for me?

#7 rcshirt Sep 19, 2012 03:28 PM

some of the older servos didn't like over 6 volts. Usually a bec can be changed between 5v and 6 v. I run my converstions at 5v to be safe. unless you really need high speed 6v isn't going to be noticed. and on a p40 you really don't need high speed servos.

you would have to look up their specs on each sevo.

#8 1320fastback Sep 19, 2012 03:31 PM

A 2S of around 750-1000Mah will power what you have for Multiple flights without recharging.

I use Lipos exclusively in my glow planes and always use a CC BEC. Have never had one hiccup.

#9 600Bob Sep 19, 2012 04:09 PM

This one has the proper connector.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...iver_Pack.html

I use the 2100mah version of this one in many of my planes. Good with any servo rated for 6v. Most good Lipo chargers have a setting for these batteries. They also are not as much as a fire hazard as Lipos. And no regulator to fail.

http://www.hobbico.com/radioaccys/hcam6415.html

#10 Lifer Sep 20, 2012 05:28 AM

Plus 1 on the LIFE packs!

#11 SohoR1 Sep 20, 2012 07:10 AM

What size Lifepo should I be using for my GP Cherokee? Looks like my option are 750mah to 1500mah

#12 rcshirt Sep 20, 2012 10:36 AM

i like 100mah in most of mine. Although a standard 4cell nicad was only 600mah for a 4 servo plane.

#13 rcshirt Sep 20, 2012 10:37 AM

sorry 1000mah

#14 jymz Sep 20, 2012 10:47 AM

I know the picture shows different it will come the same as the 700mah battery. (I have both) No adapter is required.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html

Jim

#15 600Bob Sep 20, 2012 10:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SohoR1 (Post 22783382)
What size Lifepo should I be using for my GP Cherokee? Looks like my option are 750mah to 1500mah

The ones linked in my post, #9 are more than 1500mah, as high as 3200mah. I like as much as I can fit in the plane, generally a 2100mah for a plane the size of the Cherokee.

Maybe not the best prices but a list of whats available from one brand.

http://www.towerhobbies.com/products...hcam6415m.html

Another option with standard JR plug.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ter_Pack_.html

Do not go by pack voltage to determine when to stop flying, go by MAH used like with a Lipo.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.