RC Groups

RC Groups
    Eagle Tree Systems
        Help! Diversity loves only one channel

#1 ReneNL Jun 18, 2012 01:56 PM

Diversity loves only one channel
 
Hope someone can help me out.

On the Eagle Eyes, on channel one I have a Helical and on channel two a Cloverleaf.

The cloverleaf is the big favorite of my Eagle Eye. Even if I'm on thousand meters or more and right in the line of the helical... I get the (poor) output of the cloverleaf.

ONLY if the signal of the cloverleaf is allmost gone, the helical takes over. As soon as cloverleaf gives a little bit of signal, it takes over.

Note that my perfect image from the helical have to make place for the lousy and noisy image of cloverleaf.

I change the settings allready. AV in 1 with Diversity to AV in 2 with Diversity.
Also did I make the eagle more sensitive. Changed it from standard 5 to 8. No solution yet.

Anybody?

#2 billpa Jun 18, 2012 11:38 PM

Hi Rene,

Would you be able to post a short video showing when the switch occurs inappropriately from the helical to the cloverleaf?

#3 ReneNL Jun 19, 2012 02:40 PM

Hello billpa,

Today I made some testflights with this in mind. I will show you tomorrow.
Also changed the two receivers... made no difference :(

Thanks for tour reaction,
René

Quote:

Originally Posted by billpa (Post 21935170)
Hi Rene,

Would you be able to post a short video showing when the switch occurs inappropriately from the helical to the cloverleaf?


#4 ReneNL Jun 19, 2012 05:14 PM

@billpa

Here it is;
https://vimeo.com/44345205

The last 10 seconds are 'the best'.
Sorry about the OSD ;)

Hope this helps,

René

#5 billpa Jun 19, 2012 10:07 PM

Thanks, Rene. The EE should not be switching, I agree. Can you let me know the brand of receivers you are using?

Also, would it be possible for you to run an experiment with a laptop connected to the EE? That way, we can capture some diagnostics in real time from it (assuming we are not able to reproduce it here).

#6 ReneNL Jun 20, 2012 02:18 AM

Watching the video it looks not that bat I have to admit. Using my videogoggles it's another thing.

I have two RC305 receivers on 5.8 like http://www.rc4y.com/bev-58ghz-pocket...iver-p-24.html

And yes, a laptop is no problem. I guess you have some test software for Windows? Don't think I can do anything but uploading new firmware with the standard software since I do not own your OSD yet.

Thanks for quick and great support,

René

#7 billpa Jun 20, 2012 04:01 PM

Hi Rene, we have one other report of switching (actually with similar antenna styles) using those receivers, so we are going to order those. Also, would you be able to send me links to the transmitter and antennas you are using? That way, we can have the exact setup.

#8 ReneNL Jun 20, 2012 04:47 PM

Bello billpa,
Strange. I did more tests. With the stock antenna on one receiver. Same.
Also tried all 8 channels. Same :(
Is there more to try out?

Transmitter: http://www.foxtechfpv.com/58g-400mw-...ter-p-544.html
Cloverleaf set: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=550
This helical: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=936

Hope this will be any help.

René

#9 ReneNL Jun 20, 2012 04:57 PM

I forgot, did one more test.
Started wih 9V on the transmitter, up to 15V with steps off 1V. No result.

Tomorrow I will do the same with the receivers. You never know.

René

#10 billpa Jun 21, 2012 12:08 PM

Thanks, Rene. This is looking like a compatibility problem with this model of receiver (which we can probably address in firmware). Can you confirm you are seeing the switching issue regardless of the type of antenna?

#11 ReneNL Jun 21, 2012 03:19 PM

Hello again. Yep, on the receiver side I did tests with stock and no antenna's.

I can try some older firmware just to test if the problems were allready there.
Can you give me some links to different versions?

Is there anything else I can do?

Since so many people have exactly these type 'Chinese' receivers and I guess a lot with the
Eagle Eye, it's hard to believe they have all the same problem without asking on internet.
I took Google for hours and did not find any topic of this problem. Strange...

So, let me test real old firmware. Hope I can help you any furder.

René

#12 ReneNL Jun 21, 2012 04:33 PM

Billpa, read this please:
http://fpvlab.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-4200.html?

If I have enough standard antenna's, I try the stock ones on the receivers AND transmitter.
That I have not done. Just to be sure...

René

#13 billpa Jun 22, 2012 12:37 PM

Hi Rene, I've seen one other problem report with the this receiver and diversity switching (on the OSD Pro thread).

I've ordered the two receivers and transmitter, and we'll check it out here once they arrive!

I doubt if the issue will be affected by moving to a prior EE firmware, but if you'd like to try, I'd recommend trying our release version from the website (assuming you are using our beta version now).

#14 ReneNL Jun 22, 2012 02:35 PM

Sounds good! Thanks for taking this serious.
Today I did 12 testflights with all possible combinations
of antenna's including the stock antenna on the transmitter,
the stock antenna on the receiver and a cheap linear patch antenna.
EVERY combination the Eagle Eye had the same problem.

I think you are correct that there must be a problem between the combi
of Eagle Eye and these receivers.

Hope you find a solution, good luck!

René

#15 ReneNL Jun 23, 2012 04:42 PM

Update: did download the beta-software and installed the firmware update. No luck.
Used a DC converter to bring the voltage of the receivers and Eagle Tree back to 9V. No luck.

René


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.