RC Groups

RC Groups
    Sailplane Talk
        Discussion Newbie Long Distance Flying Question

#1 HoosierGuy May 08, 2012 03:49 PM

Newbie Long Distance Flying Question

I'm still a newbie to gliders. My first and only glider is a Harbor Freight electric glider. But I'm getting close to buying more gliders.

I enjoy watching on YouTube the videos of gliders flying over cities. I've noticed it's usually in Asia (China).

Do people actually put GPS units in their gliders and let the GPS fly the glider to a destination? If so, how far can a glider fly? Is that legal in the U.S. and if it is, what is the cost of a basic set-up? Can I get the equipment (minus glider) for under $1,000?

My dream is to get a glider and let a GPS guide it to a relatives farm house about ten miles away. Is that impossible or are people doing those kind of things now?

Thanks

#2 Libelle201B May 08, 2012 04:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HoosierGuy (Post 21556140)
I'm still a newbie to gliders. My first and only glider is a Harbor Freight electric glider. But I'm getting close to buying more gliders.

I enjoy watching on YouTube the videos of gliders flying over cities. I've noticed it's usually in Asia (China).

Do people actually put GPS units in their gliders and let the GPS fly the glider to a destination? If so, how far can a glider fly? Is that legal in the U.S. and if it is, what is the cost of a basic set-up? Can I get the equipment (minus glider) for under $1,000?

My dream is to get a glider and let a GPS guide it to a relatives farm house about ten miles away. Is that impossible or are people doing those kind of things now?

Thanks

Look under the forum, Aircraft- Exotic and Special Interest and then scroll down to UAV.

#3 Windrider53 May 08, 2012 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HoosierGuy (Post 21556140)
Is that legal in the U.S.

No. The plane must remain within sight of the pilot.

#4 HoosierGuy May 08, 2012 04:48 PM

Quote: