RC Groups

RC Groups
    Radios
        Discussion dx8 lock out or lock up issue?? help

#1 chaos2984 May 01, 2012 07:49 PM

dx8 lock out or lock up issue?? help
 
Ok so i have been flying my hangar 9 extra 260 27% since last august. Here is my setup
dle 55cc
all spektrum servos 6020's for all surfaces except the rudder its a 6040 i think it has over 200 oz of tq.
Running a sky lipo 3000 2s for receiver threw a 10amp castle bec
ignition has its own battery
spektrum 6200 receiver

i never had any issues with the plane last year but don't know if it was because i wasn't trying these 3d stunts i am now. well now i noticed sometimes that when i try to flip the plane with ailerons elevator and rudder and flip the plane and get it to a flat spin. Sometimes seems like the plane locks out and won't do the man overs i want it to do i just thought at first i was counteracting the throws. but i had a dead stick the other day found out un related but i was messing with the radio and when i try moving the surfaces on the ground it goes into lockout and will not move the surfaces sometimes it takes a second to move again sometimes more(while you are holding the sticks) but if you let go and try again its normal. sometimes it do it sometimes won't. But it will only do it if you work all the surfaces if you work only one it will not do it. I checked the battery and it was at 7.76v and 57% full.

Im wondering if I'm putting to much of a load on the battery and drawing down the voltage. or is the 10amp bec not enough current for the plane with working all the surfaces. Any help would be great I'm kinda at a loss.

#2 Harry H May 01, 2012 07:57 PM

I would say it's your BEC. The 10amp is only good for 4 standard digital servos and maybe less doing 3D. When you use all the control surfaces, you are most likely overloading that 10amp. Go with the 20amp pro and make sure none of your servos are binding.

Harry

#3 dfrazier May 01, 2012 08:17 PM

It definitely sounds like the BEC. Go to a larger BEC. But I recommend the use of A123 batteries(no BEC needed) with dual output wires going through 2 heavy duty switches. They can take anything you can dish out.

#4 chaos2984 May 01, 2012 09:24 PM

well the only reason y i do not use life batts is that i don't have the support for them. i came from car racing and already had pro chargers and just went with as lipo instead. maybe ill have to switch around my setup and use a 5 cell on the receiver and run the bec to the ignition and test it. If that works ill fly it easy until i get the new bec.

have any of you had any issues with the tygon fuel line curing inside the fuel tank. i think mine got caught up in that small section in the front of the factory tank. when i pulled the fuel out of the tank it wouldn't pull down past 1/4 tank thats when i found my issue for dead stick. I think I'm going to switch to the baby bottle fuel tank and test that one out.

#5 richard hanson May 01, 2012 10:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chaos2984 (Post 21493773)
well the only reason y i do not use life batts is that i don't have the support for them. i came from car racing and already had pro chargers and just went with as lipo instead. maybe ill have to switch around my setup and use a 5 cell on the receiver and run the bec to the ignition and test it. If that works ill fly it easy until i get the new bec.

have any of you had any issues with the tygon fuel line curing inside the fuel tank. i think mine got caught up in that small section in the front of the factory tank. when i pulled the fuel out of the tank it wouldn't pull down past 1/4 tank thats when i found my issue for dead stick. I think I'm going to switch to the baby bottle fuel tank and test that one out.

You are not the first to get caught in the "BEC" game.
The peak loads possible are sometimes difficult to correctly see.
Ifyou feel you must use a BEC - go double what is recommended ditto on the Lipo Batteries .
Yes - I far prefer A123 packs

#6 chaos2984 May 02, 2012 06:38 AM

yea i know people perfer the life packs alot more because its a direct plug into the receiver but i didnt want to buy a charger at the time either. I may have to look into one. What kind of bec are you all running if anything

#7 Harry H May 02, 2012 09:32 AM

I switched out the CC10 for the CC20 Pro in 3 of my planes. I run all electric and take the power off the main flight pack. I have the same theory as Richard, estimate your needs and double it. The Pro is a very good BEC and has 2 beafy power leads to operate it.

Harry

And set the output for 6v

#8 chaos2984 May 02, 2012 09:54 AM

yea that what i was setting it to with the first one. Ill have to get a 20amper one and just fly it normaly for now until i get one

thanks guys.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.