RC Groups

RC Groups
    Radios
        Discussion Problems with Orange RX DSM2 and Failsafe

#1 jtprouty Mar 15, 2012 06:01 PM

Problems with Orange RX DSM2 and Failsafe
 
I tried the failsafe on my DX7 and an Orange RX 7 channel DSM2 RX and when I turn off the TX to check the failsafe, the servos simply go limp when the signal drops. Anyone else having problem like this? Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help,

Jimmy

#2 freechip Mar 15, 2012 06:49 PM

Not every RX has Preset Failsafe, most only have Hold Last Command.

How you testing FS? Turning off the radio?

#3 dmcquinn Mar 15, 2012 08:37 PM

The servos should all hold their last position except for the throttle which should return to whatever position it was in when you last bound the system. When you say "go limp" do you mean that you can easily move the surfaces as if the servos have been turned off?

#4 jtprouty Mar 15, 2012 09:10 PM

When I turn off the radio the servos typically go to where I set them up in failsafe (in this case full up and right elevon.) In this case they simply de-energize and I can move them freely. Looks like I need to set up my Spektrum RX if I plan to use failsafe.

Thanks again for your help,

Jimmy

#5 freechip Mar 16, 2012 05:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jtprouty (Post 21046882)
When I turn off the radio the servos typically go to where I set them up in failsafe (in this case full up and right elevon.)

This is because you have the receiver set for PRESET FAILSAFE
Quote:

In this case they simply de-energize and I can move them freely. Looks like I need to set up my Spektrum RX if I plan to use failsafe. Thanks again for your help,
Jimmy
Most will just hold last command.

#6 grmis Mar 16, 2012 06:54 AM

Setting failsafe on OrangeRX DSM receivers
 
Hi,
If one needs *all* channels to go to some specific positions on signal lost, one should bind the receiver in the following way:
- TX & RX off
- Plug the binding plug
- Switch on the RX -> flashes
- Remove the binding plug -> RX keeps flashing
- Switch on the TX in binding mode with the sticks at desired positions

This worked for me with(Dx6i) with the 6ch as well as with 9ch receiver from OrangeRx. I think it is the same procedure with most genuine spektrum receivers.
If you don't remove the plug before switching on the TX, only the throttle channel will move (to zero) in case of a signal loss ("Preset failsafe" mode, as mentioned above). Hope this helps!

#7 freechip Mar 16, 2012 07:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by grmis (Post 21049769)
... I think it is the same procedure with most genuine spektrum receivers. ...

It is the same procedure BUT not all receivers have both failsafe methods.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.