RC Groups

RC Groups
    Radios
        Discussion High voltage servos, such as Hitec's do they work with 4.8V-6V voltage?

#1 liukku Mar 07, 2012 09:11 AM

High voltage servos, such as Hitec's do they work with 4.8V-6V voltage?
 
Hello
The high voltage servos, such as Hitec's, do they work with 4.8V-6V voltage?

/Ville

#2 mighty9 Mar 07, 2012 09:26 AM

Im going to say yes . But maybe if you list some specific models people can give a more educated answer

#3 liukku Mar 07, 2012 09:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mighty9 (Post 20964590)
Im going to say yes . But maybe if you list some specific models people can give a more educated answer

I was thinking about the Ultra Premium Digital-serie, e.g.HS-7115TH HV Ultra Slim Titanium Gear Servo
http://www.hitecrcd.com/products/dig...hs-7115th.html

But I also ask the question in general, what about other brands servos?

/Ville

#4 MikeMayberry Mar 07, 2012 10:15 AM

All the HV servos have specs listed at 6.0 /7.4v... using them at 4.8v is also possible with reduced performance.

Mike.

#5 liukku Mar 07, 2012 10:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeMayberry (Post 20965013)
All the HV servos have specs listed at 6.0 /7.4v... using them at 4.8v is also possible with reduced performance.

Mike.

Thank you Mike

That is what I wanted to hear.

/Ville :)

#6 richard hanson Mar 07, 2012 02:16 PM

IF-- you are using smaller ESC with internal BEC setups - don't bother with HV servos Mot of those run an output of 5-5.5 volts for the rx and servos
Other than that exception, HV servos have a lot going for em.
I run A123 battery packs on anything othe than small electric powered models . these and 2 cell Lipos proved same servo power at lower amps.-
The servo wiring, which is really WAY behind the curve in all of the present radios, is not as likely to overheat.
Any larger models , now get HV servos -

#7 liukku Mar 07, 2012 06:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by richard hanson (Post 20967125)
IF-- you are using smaller ESC with internal BEC setups - don't bother with HV servos Mot of those run an output of 5-5.5 volts for the rx and servos
Other than that exception, HV servos have a lot going for em.
I run A123 battery packs on anything othe than small electric powered models . these and 2 cell Lipos proved same servo power at lower amps.-
The servo wiring, which is really WAY behind the curve in all of the present radios, is not as likely to overheat.
Any larger models , now get HV servos -

If, as Mike says, I see no problem to use high voltage servos via a 5V-5, 5V bec circuit. Why not bother? I can think of several reasons to want to use a mixture of high voltage servos and my old (4.8V-6V) low voltage servos. Above Said Hitec servos would suit me very nicely because of its size.
But as I said, my question was mostly meant as a general question about the usage possibility.

/Ville

#8 Jaguar22 Mar 26, 2012 11:35 AM

If you go to Hitec's webpage and read the specs for their HV servos it states 7.4v and 6.0v input voltage for their HV servos . Running lower input voltage than 6.0v would work but the servo performance will be very weak and slow. I have several planes with HV servos and have been running them for quite a while. The HV model servos have similar performance specs to their equivalent standard voltage servos, not extra power from higher input voltage or different power source. It is still best to run a regulator to keep input voltage constant under load and flight to flight. This is very helpful for precision aerobatics etc.

There are two advantages to HV servos, weight savings of lipo cells and running higher input voltage to the Receiver. Higher input voltage for a 2.4 receiver helps prevent brown out situations that can happen with most any brand receiver. An ounce of prevention saves pounds of cure. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by liukku (Post 20964473)
Hello
The high voltage servos, such as Hitec's, do they work with 4.8V-6V voltage?

/Ville


#9 pilotpete2 Mar 26, 2012 12:06 PM

The regulator can do more harm than good in situations with high instantaneous current demand. For voltage stability under load, a 2S A123 pack is all the regulation you need.
I have a set of the new Hitec HS-430BH going into a new build, though will be on 2s A123. Looks like a nice dual BB servo for less than 15 bucks.
Pete

#10 richard hanson Mar 26, 2012 12:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pilotpete2 (Post 21147160)
The regulator can do more harm than good in situations with high instantaneous current demand. For voltage stability under load, a 2S A123 pack is all the regulation you need.
I have a set of the new Hitec HS-430BH going into a new build, though will be on 2s A123. Looks like a nice dual BB servo for less than 15 bucks.
Pete

The guys who have not used A123 and really understand WHY the differences - won't agree - but -then it's their choice --
Lipos have their place tho-


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.