RC Groups

RC Groups
    Multirotor Talk
        Discussion Battery selection for DJI F550 hex kit

#1 copters3d Feb 28, 2012 11:48 AM

Battery selection for DJI F550 hex kit

HI

I am going to be building my first multicopter (settled on DJI F550 ARF with NAZA). Quick question (yes I am total newbie) - I was told to get a 4S 4000-6000ma battery. I can see a few options on the internet but with different C ratings 30C vs 40C vs 50C. Can anyone provide some recommendations here? I don't understand the difference, but want an optimal choice for my set up in terms of flight time and power (I am using the stock DJI motors). Thanks

#2 copters3d Feb 29, 2012 06:35 AM

Anyone?

#3 Telrin Feb 29, 2012 07:11 AM

OK, let's see if I can help a little.

The 'C' rating tells you how much current you can reasonably expect the pack to deliver but it is a very vague number in most cases as the quoted rating is not usually based on cells assembled into a pack but special testing on a single cell in very favorable circumstances :)

So for a 5000mAh pack with a 40C rating they are claiming it can support up to 200 amps continuous, which few if any of them actually will, but fortunately you are not likely to be drawing that much either ...

The other consideration is that weight tends to increase along with higher C ratings (and capacity) and you don't want to carry more weight than you need.

In the absence of any specific recommendations from others I'd say don't go beyond a 40C pack and in all probability a 30C pack would still be perfectly adequate.

Now, a brief question in return :)

Did your F550 ship with both 8" and 10" props?

Just curious as the manual lists both in the box, but mine only had 10" included.

Just wondering if that is 'normal' or if something got left out by accident?

#4 piccoloflyer Mar 01, 2012 06:05 PM

30C should be enough, my F550 comes with both 8 x 8" and 8 x 10" prop

#5 Michael64 Mar 01, 2012 07:47 PM