RC Groups

RC Groups
    Eagle Tree Systems
        Discussion Can I control Guardian stabilizer with DX6i?

#1 njwxyz Jan 21, 2012 05:41 AM

Can I control Guardian stabilizer with DX6i?
 
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!

#2 camship Jan 22, 2012 04:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by njwxyz (Post 20490537)
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!

Answer #1 yes, in theory. Answer #2 I am not familiar with the programing of the DX so I don't know how it handles failsafe but the ET system is pretty flexible so I would venture a hesitant, "yes".

The DX6i is a bad way to start FPV. That is why you can't find info because folks ditch the DX (any version) very quickly as it is useless for anything but putt putt park flyers. Get a different TX. Check the Video Piloting Forum. You will be glad you did.

Best of luck to you,

Rob

#3 EugeneFlorida Jan 22, 2012 06:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by njwxyz (Post 20490537)
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!

I used the DX6i for over a year worked great!!!
I used AUX 1 and 2 on Gear and Flap switch the plane is a Easy Star no ailerons.
Guardian I used the box stick (center stick)

I have a small place to fly in only out 2700 feet. Never had FS come on when I was flying.
But, test worked great..

How I have Dragon Link.:D
Hope that help

#4 njwxyz Jan 22, 2012 08:23 AM

Thanks for not beating around the bush, Camship! :)
I guess the old adage holds true..."Time spent on reconnaissance is seldom wasted."

Well I guess I saw that coming anyway, since the only available band in Norway (legal, and with a high enough power to be useful- many bands peak at max 50mW power allowed!!) is 4.5GHz (which has a few freqs allowed up to a whopping 2000mW power), so I guess I was going to have to do this anyway to avoid RC and AV competing for the same few available frequencies.
Oh well, guess I'll be sellin' my Spectrum after all (and whatever else of value I can find)...

Thanks again!

#5 camship Jan 22, 2012 03:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by njwxyz (Post 20500825)
Thanks for not beating around the bush, Camship! :)
I guess the old adage holds true..."Time spent on reconnaissance is seldom wasted."

Well I guess I saw that coming anyway, since the only available band in Norway (legal, and with a high enough power to be useful- many bands peak at max 50mW power allowed!!) is 4.5GHz (which has a few freqs allowed up to a whopping 2000mW power), so I guess I was going to have to do this anyway to avoid RC and AV competing for the same few available frequencies.
Oh well, guess I'll be sellin' my Spectrum after all (and whatever else of value I can find)...

Thanks again!

Wow, 4.5GHz. Check the FPV forum. I know there is a small community of Norwegian FPV'ers that can fill you in.

Go for it!

Rob

#6 njwxyz Jan 23, 2012 01:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by camship (Post 20504536)
Wow, 4.5GHz. Check the FPV forum. I know there is a small community of Norwegian FPV'ers that can fill you in.

Go for it!

Rob

Uhhhh...I mean 2.4GHz... not 4.5. Cerebral gas-passing... ;-) or paralysis by analysis... time to stop researching and buy something!
Cheers, Rob.

#7 wedreagle May 02, 2013 04:41 PM

Eclipse 7 transmitter
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by njwxyz (Post 20490537)
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!

I also would like to know how to program the Guardian to a 3 way switch on my Eclipse 7 transmitter. I am at a loss!

#8 ldeboer112 May 03, 2014 08:19 PM

Using the DX6i with Eagletree Guardian
 
Check out my youtube video

A simpler 3 positiion switch setup for Spektrum DX6i and the Eagletree Guardian (5 min 26 sec)

#9 Uretek May 09, 2014 07:13 PM

The video is a great idea! Works great, I just used gear for mode and flaps on off in mix

#10 CurrentDude Jun 02, 2014 12:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by njwxyz (Post 20490537)
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!

With all respect to guys here, it might be worth visiting the following thread. Lots of helpful guys are there:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...2#post28539470


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.