RC Groups

RC Groups
    3D Electric Heli Flying
        Discussion Which RX is compatible with the Devo 7?

#1 Chow Oct 26, 2011 03:31 PM

Which RX is compatible with the Devo 7?
 
For the time being I want one heli to be used with the Devo 7 which came with my Genius CP. However I'm a bit confused which Walkera RX will be compatible. Does anyone know??

#2 Hellraser Oct 27, 2011 10:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chow (Post 19703608)
For the time being I want one heli to be used with the Devo 7 which came with my Genius CP. However I'm a bit confused which Walkera RX will be compatible. Does anyone know??

If the Rx has a D at the end of its ref number ie 2023V-D then theoretically it should be compatible with all the devo range - not sure about Rx's such as 801 which is designed for devo 8 - would need testing to see if it worked but with one less channel accessible.

what were you thinking of using it on ?

Regards David

#3 Chow Oct 28, 2011 03:42 AM

Want to use the Devo 7 on my "portable" copterx 250..

#4 PHMX Nov 03, 2011 07:33 AM

I'm pretty sure the Devo 8 receiver should work just fine.

A small word of advice though, make sure the throttle subtrim and throttle hold are both set to something very low and make sure the throttle hold switch is on. Some non-Walkera ESCs won't bind when the throttle subtrim isn't set to the lowest possible position.

Don't worry about the percentage that might show 85% instead of 100% for the maximum throttle where it starts at -30% throttle or so instead of 0%.

It's basically the only way I know of to make the Devo receivers work with ESCs that are picky about zero throttle or their throttle protection.

#5 Airrover Nov 03, 2011 09:42 AM

I checked on walkera's site,RX2625H is for DEVO Tx.

#6 Chow Nov 03, 2011 09:52 AM

Walkera emailed me the RX801 is compatible..

#7 PHMX Nov 03, 2011 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Airrover (Post 19774429)
I checked on walkera's site,RX2625H is for DEVO Tx.

Yes, but that's the Genius CP receiver and flybarless unit;

http://www.helipal.com/hm-genius-cp-...o8q6s9im9l81h0

Not sure if that's such a good match for a 250 size heli, but it will work with that transmitter indeed. :)

#8 thwaitm Mar 05, 2012 08:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chow (Post 19774522)
Walkera emailed me the RX801 is compatible..

I just tried it and it doesn't work with mine.

#9 PHMX Mar 07, 2012 04:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thwaitm (Post 20942107)
I just tried it and it doesn't work with mine.

You'll need to bind it first. Check your radio manual on how to do this.

#10 thwaitm Mar 07, 2012 04:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PHMX (Post 20968366)
You'll need to bind it first. Check your radio manual on how to do this.

When I said, it doesn't work, I meant, "It won't bind."
The RX801 doesn't notice there is a signal being transmitted from the 7.
No change in LED flash pattern.

#11 PHMX Mar 07, 2012 05:46 PM

Oh, I do understand, but are you sure you're binding correctly? You can only bind following the procedure described in the manual.

http://www.walkera.com/cn/upload/explain/DEVO7_expe.pdf

Another thing, do you perhaps intend to use it for a non-Walkera ESC?

This most likely means that you'll have to set the zero throttle value to something incredibly low. (I've set my throttle subtrim and trim to the lowest possible in my Tx).

This will help binding with ESCs that have a certain type of start-up protection. Not sure why, but this helped in my case.

I've got the Devo 8, so I am not entirely sure (walkera site seems to be down or incredibly slow here at the moment), but does the Devo 7 support the unique ID stuff too?

Then you might have to try binding without using a fixed ID number. This might involve resetting the ID number of the receiver.

Good luck.

#12 thwaitm Mar 07, 2012 09:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PHMX (Post 20968915)
Oh, I do understand, but are you sure you're binding correctly? You can only bind following the procedure described in the manual.

http://www.walkera.com/cn/upload/explain/DEVO7_expe.pdf

Another thing, do you perhaps intend to use it for a non-Walkera ESC?

This most likely means that you'll have to set the zero throttle value to something incredibly low. (I've set my throttle subtrim and trim to the lowest possible in my Tx).

This will help binding with ESCs that have a certain type of start-up protection. Not sure why, but this helped in my case.

I've got the Devo 8, so I am not entirely sure (walkera site seems to be down or incredibly slow here at the moment), but does the Devo 7 support the unique ID stuff too?

Then you might have to try binding without using a fixed ID number. This might involve resetting the ID number of the receiver.

Good luck.

I was using a non-Walkera esc to power the RX801 but it would bind without a problem to the Devo 8. I had no FIXED ID set in the D8, D7 or the RX.
D7 supports fixed ID but only 5 digits, not 6 as per the D8.

Which bind process are you describing? There is nothing so special in that manual. Turn on TX with THRO & THRO Trim at minimum. Turn on RX. Wait for bind.

Trims are all at minimums and it doesn't bind.
Have you actually tried RX801 with Devo7?
If it is possible to get it to bind it would be good to know how to do it.

#13 PHMX Mar 08, 2012 06:04 AM

Alright, please make sure that you set the throttle subtrim (SUBTR, page 23 (26 in pdf)) (yes, subtrim, not only the regular trim) to the lowest possible value also. This might well end up being something like -20.

Then make sure you're plugging the bind plug in the correct location.

If it still fails, the receiver probably needs to be reset. This is fixed ID related, so check page 52 and page 10 (=13 in pdf)) of the manual I've linked to above.(I'd save it to your hard-drive, because the website is really slow.

The reason why I know this receiver will really work with the Devo 7 is because it's the same series, same technology, people on youtube already use it and the Devo RX802 works fine also.

The problem is with the ESC, not the receiver. :) The fix is easy though; throttle subtrim to lowest possible value.

Quote:

There is nothing so special in that manual. Turn on TX with THRO & THRO Trim at minimum. Turn on RX. Wait for bind.
That's what you do to just bind it whenever your model is already bind to recognize the receiver. With non-Walkera ESCs you'll also have to set the subtrim for throttle channel to the lowest position also or it can't bind.

When you bind the receiver you'll also need to plug in the bind plug in the correct location. Then you'll need to turn on the helicopter first (take blades off if you want to be safe!), then after that turn on the transmitter. Its a different order for the first bind process.

Also bear in mind that using a fixed ID will in fact greatly speed up the binding process. So.. it might in fact be useful to set it up for fixed ID. Problem is, you can't when it's not yet bind to be recognized yet.

#14 thwaitm Mar 08, 2012 09:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PHMX (Post 20973150)
Alright, please make sure that you set the throttle subtrim (SUBTR, page 23 (26 in pdf)) (yes, subtrim, not only the regular trim) to the lowest possible value also. This might well end up being something like -20.

Then make sure you're plugging the bind plug in the correct location.

If it still fails, the receiver probably needs to be reset. This is fixed ID related, so check page 52 and page 10 (=13 in pdf)) of the manual I've linked to above.(I'd save it to your hard-drive, because the website is really slow.

The reason why I know this receiver will really work with the Devo 7 is because it's the same series, same technology, people on youtube already use it and the Devo RX802 works fine also.

The problem is with the ESC, not the receiver. :) The fix is easy though; throttle subtrim to lowest possible value.



That's what you do to just bind it whenever your model is already bind to recognize the receiver. With non-Walkera ESCs you'll also have to set the subtrim for throttle channel to the lowest position also or it can't bind.

When you bind the receiver you'll also need to plug in the bind plug in the correct location. Then you'll need to turn on the helicopter first (take blades off if you want to be safe!), then after that turn on the transmitter. Its a different order for the first bind process.

Also bear in mind that using a fixed ID will in fact greatly speed up the binding process. So.. it might in fact be useful to set it up for fixed ID. Problem is, you can't when it's not yet bind to be recognized yet.

OK - followed your instructions to the letter an I don't have a result.
My RX801 will *NOT* bind at all to my Devo7.

The bind plug doesn't need to be plugged into the RX to bind, only to reset the fixed ID. Once there is no fixed ID the RX should bind.

My RX has no fixed ID, I reset & confirmed using the Devo8. Still it will not bind to Devo7.

THRO Subtrim is at L62.5
THRO Trim is at -25
Bind plug not inserted, inserted in ELEV and BATT. Connecting white to red each time. red to black jump gives no flashing light on RX (shorting +ve to -ve = normal nothing happens)

Got a link to the videos on you tube?

#15 PHMX Mar 08, 2012 11:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thwaitm (Post 20974620)
The bind plug doesn't need to be plugged into the RX to bind, only to reset the fixed ID. Once there is no fixed ID the RX should bind.

I'm sorry, but there lies the problem. You really do need to use the bind plug. This is always the case when binding a new receiver to a radio. :rolleyes:

But you obviously don't put it in the same location as is required for doing an ID reset. I know the manual is extreme scarce about this. :)

Plug the bind plug in the throttle channel and power the receiver through the batt port. Then turn on your radio to bind.

It's really compatible with the Devo 7, so you're still doing something wrong;
http://www.buzzflyer.co.uk/Walkera-G...er/p-176-2130/


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.