RC Groups

RC Groups
    Multirotor Talk
        Help! need new flight controller recommendations

#1 n3m1s1s May 05, 2011 04:56 PM

need new flight controller recommendations
 
title says it all :) but i have changed it to include the not so plug and play boards out there :) do you have any suggestions please?

forget the buying bit and price now as i have a selection of boards right here :) but info on more would be great for future choices :) so far i have

kk black board v5.5 with flymentor

minsoo kin blue board with helicommand 3d

fy90q (in the post)

homebrew shi lankan shield with 2009 chip clone wm+ and clone nunchuk

arduino 2009 with v4.1 shield official wm+ and nunchuk

jussi 1.0 shield with pro mini official wm+ an bma020

v2 alex/warthox board with ffimu gyro acc and baro

custom muitiwii With built in PPM encoder bluetooth ITG3200 gyro acc baro mag and USB on board

flyduino mega black with sensor bob and ffimu

uavx erm looks complete with gyros mag baro and gps? plus spaghetti lol

arduino mega 2560 and proto shield?

#2 dt8666 May 05, 2011 07:23 PM

Not sure how plug n play you are after. will some soldering of cable consider plug and play?

I still see the KK board is a relatively simple board to start the quad. and with the new software that I tested lately, it is very stable and not even wobble.

It only has 3 pot to play with so as long as you done the initial few step, it is almost no more work needed.:D

#3 SeismicCWave May 05, 2011 10:22 PM

I will try a MultiWii. A bit involved but the potential is there.

#4 ben123 May 06, 2011 04:26 AM

Ello Nem :)

How about Witespy's Quadrino?

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...6#post18157136

Quote:

Quadrino Basic
- Includes ITG3200 Gyro and BMA180 Accelerometer
- Accelerometer provides auto level features
- Ready-to-fly
- 95$ USD

Quadrino ADV
- Quadrino Basic plus BMP085 Barometer and HMC5883 Magnetometer
- Baro and Mag provides altitude and heading hold features
- 145$ USD

Shipping is via USPS Flat Rate Small Box. Shipping rates are per shipment, not per unit, so pay shipping only once.
- 5.20$ USD within mainland United States
- 11.95$ USD to Canada
- 13.95$ USD to anywhere else
Looks good to me but I've never tried it :)

Ben

#5 ben123 May 06, 2011 04:58 AM

Or maybe Goofy's Flyduino?

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1381577

It's kind of more future proof in that it'll take a serial GPS if multiwii software ever takes one. It's about 40 euros according to here :

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=375

He also does a power distro board and sensor bobs for around 6 euros each:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=346

So you can either use a wm+ and bma020 (Kinderkram is selling them again in the swarm thread for 8 euros:) ) or maybe the ALLINONE sensor board for around 65 :

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/HMC5883L-BMA18...b#ht_899wt_905

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1413106

Goofy has an order enquiry page here :

http://flyduino.jossyrc.com/

So for this option it's ~41 (46euros) for the Flyduino + sensor BOB, and around 15 for a wm+ and ~7 (8 euro) for a BMA020, or 65 for the ALLINONE.

Ben.

#6 timecop May 06, 2011 05:03 AM

I don't think flyfuino counts as plug n play.
Witespy board ftw

#7 ben123 May 06, 2011 05:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by timecop (Post 18161462)
I don't think flyfuino counts as plug n play.

True :)

Ben.

#8 n3m1s1s May 06, 2011 07:19 AM

cheers guys :) liking all options so far ive never programmed a FC but i am getting an annoying tiny wobble with my minsoo kim and helicommand combo i know its just a matter of changing the gyro settings ( updating to the newest software needs doing too as i think that will sort it as well) but i feel its time to broaden my knowledge database with some of the new toys out there

on a side note i have an arduino 2009 here, a wii+ and a cheap nun-chuck on order from dealextreme if i crack open the wii+ and take a few pix can someone please tell me the simplest way to link them together? :)

#9 ben123 May 06, 2011 08:45 AM

Hi Nem.

The easiest way to find out how to connect your wm+ is to check which colour wire goes to which connector on the plug :

http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...g?d=1302706715

I'm not too familiar with Arduinos... is your arduino this one?

http://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardDuemilanove

If so I think it has to have the ATmega328 version rather than the 168 to use MultiWii as it is.

If its the right one the yellow "Clock" on the wm+ picture above is SCL and connects to analog pin A5 on your board, and green "data" is SDA and connects to A4 :)

Rather than getting a random clone nunchuck you could use KinderKrams ELV BMA020 breakout in the swarm thread. It's only 8 euros and it'll definitely work (and has built in level convertor so you can run it ok on 5v) rather than the pot luck of clone nks.

Good luck and I'll be happy to try to help if you have any problems :)

Ben.

EDIT: Kinderkram seems to have sold out of the BMA020 already :(

#10 n3m1s1s May 06, 2011 09:55 AM

sweet ok heres what i have so far :)

http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/2...f3145fk.th.jpghttp://img819.imageshack.us/img819/7...cf3143h.th.jpghttp://img560.imageshack.us/img560/1...cf3141q.th.jpghttp://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4024/dscf3136r.th.jpghttp://img220.imageshack.us/img220/2...cf3133d.th.jpghttp://img812.imageshack.us/img812/7088/dscf3131.th.jpghttp://img851.imageshack.us/img851/3364/dscf3129.th.jpghttp://img535.imageshack.us/img535/9...cf3118d.th.jpghttp://img33.imageshack.us/img33/9987/dscf3112u.th.jpghttp://img189.imageshack.us/img189/5...cf3111j.th.jpghttp://img7.imageshack.us/img7/8493/dscf3110u.th.jpghttp://img822.imageshack.us/img822/1...f3106fb.th.jpghttp://img151.imageshack.us/img151/3...cf3104l.th.jpghttp://img843.imageshack.us/img843/5...dscf365.th.jpg

also sent Witespy a PM :)

#11 ben123 May 06, 2011 10:22 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Looking at that using the connector in this pic :

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/560/dscf3141q.jpg/

I think blue is GND, red is scl, black is +ve and green is sda. Do you agree using my previous pic?

Attached is a picture from the multiwii thread I've modified for you. I believe those are the connections you're looking for? Remember to connect the 5v and ground up to the rx as well :) and connect the esc bec grounds up as well I believe.

Ben.

#12 n3m1s1s May 06, 2011 10:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ben123 (Post 18163201)
Looking at that using the connector in this pic :

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/560/dscf3141q.jpg/

I think blue is GND, red is scl, black is +ve and green is sda. Do you agree using my previous pic?

Attached is a picture from the multiwii thread I've modified for you. I believe those are the connections you're looking for? Remember to connect the 5v and ground up to the rx as well :) and connect the esc bec grounds up as well I believe.

Ben.

TYVM Ben :) i will look over the pic you uploaded and shout again if/when i get stuck :) btw i was thinking just what you said in your last reply about wire but wanted to be sure :)

erm theres a nunchuck around ere somewhere an original one should i kind of borrow it till the new ones come? and how would i link to it please? beginner here :)

#13 ben123 May 06, 2011 10:45 AM

No problems :)

"kind of borrow" heheh ;)

You're Wii motion plus is the same one as here :

http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...g?d=1299929226

So using the connections on the left you know what to connect to your nunchuk (the two connections marked as "3v3 Vcc" separated by the SCL should be connected together, it lets the WM+ know a nunchuck is connected).

Now the order of the connections might differ on your nunchuck. Looking at this diagram from www.multiwii.com, if Alex is using an original nunchuck too, should help :)

http://radio-commande.com/wp-content...NK_wiring1.jpg

Good luck! :)

Ben.

#14 W,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, May 06, 2011 12:50 PM

1 Attachment(s)
By far the easiest way to hook up Wii is to buy a Paris or Warthox board.
If your able to solder for about $80.00 you can have this:
And do yourself a favor and get an original set of wii, I have 3 NK, 2 clones and only the one original works right.

#15 n3m1s1s May 06, 2011 05:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wayne Young (Post 18164349)
By far the easiest way to hook up Wii is to buy a Paris or Warthox board.
If your able to solder for about $80.00 you can have this:
And do yourself a favor and get an original set of wii, I have 3 NK, 2 clones and only the one original works right.

erm plug n play bruv? the rtf version is permanently out of stock :(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.