RC Groups

RC Groups
    Electric Sailplanes
        Rave New Parkzone Radian Pro-discussion thread!!!

#1 lightspeeddud Sep 16, 2010 03:57 PM

New Parkzone Radian Pro-discussion thread!!!
 
5 Attachment(s)
thought I would start this thread.

so word on the block is that Horizon Hobby is working on a full house 5 channel radian.

It includes: ailerons,flaps etc. with a new red color scheme PLUS new curved wingfoil.

A user here on rcgroups under the username-ozne69
went to a local hobbytown USA and bought a RTF Radian v1. So he thought he bought one but it turns out its a PROTOTYPE model of a new Radian PRO to be released in the next few weeks.

Word has it that the new radian will be released in the weeks ahead and will be in stores in 1-2 months.

Pictures are below

#2 Diggs Sep 16, 2010 04:34 PM

From the pics there seem to be a lot of nice upgrades beyond just the control surfaces. Looks as if PZ/Horizon listened to what the owners of the Radian complained about and made upgrades accordingly. I really like the fact they are using a clevis device instead of the original ez connectors with the cheap thumbscrews. One thing I don't understand is how the wings attach. The wing saddle isn't hollow and the root of the wings appear to be smooth, so they don't interlock.

Diggs

#3 ColinB Sep 16, 2010 04:48 PM

It should be interesting. I wonder if the electronics will be updated also? The 30 amp esc that currently is included is rated for "...5 analog or 4 digital sub-micro servos" so wouldn't be quite enough. Maybe this would require a separate BEC or receiver pack?

Assuming it ships with a Spektrum receiver, I wonder if this plane will encourage "casual" fliers to upgrade to a radio with variable flaps and programming to make use of the 4 servo wing? Would YOU fly a model with a radio that doesn't make full use of it's capabilities? (Plain aileron controls and two position flaps? (Full up or full down.) I don't know if I would. On my DX6i, I could handle the dual ailerons. For flaps I'd likely make the flaps switch move them half way, and try to mix the gear switch to move the flaps the other 50%. I think that's as adjustable as I could make it.

I'll sit back and see what happens.

Colin

#4 Diggs Sep 16, 2010 04:56 PM

I am going to take a guess that it will come in BNF and PNP flavors only. I doubt they will do a RTF unless they release something better than the DX5e for their RTF planes and helis. I don't think the Micro 4-site had an RTF option because they recommended a TX with Expo.

I don't think the DX8 has levers/sliders on it either. I haven't checked it out that closely, but I don't think it is really geared towards sailplanes.


Diggs

#5 scottrod31 Sep 16, 2010 05:15 PM

in post 5013 tango juliet talks about the wing being set up for a retaining screw! with the wing not passing all the way thru the fuse should make the fuse allot stronger over the wing. maybe they fixed the stupid plastic motor too. should be pretty cool set up with crow,camber and reflex.

#6 JimNM Sep 16, 2010 05:23 PM

Looks nice :D!

#7 verticalspark Sep 16, 2010 06:16 PM

Needs to be bigger! we all need a 3m radian:D

#8 320pilot Sep 16, 2010 06:45 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by ColinB (Post 16067148)
Would YOU fly a model with a radio that doesn't make full use of it's capabilities? (Plain aileron controls and two position flaps?
Colin

I fly my BulleT with this Dx-7 (heli version); all I had last year. PIA to set up 4 servo wing, with the Dx-7. Flap is on three position switch.
I have the Futaba 8FG Tx now, going to FASST now with all my sailplanes and hotliners

#9 s2000 Sep 16, 2010 07:20 PM

Cool, I can't wait for the new version, but the original is still a keeper as well.

#10 rclab1 Sep 16, 2010 07:25 PM

..... arrrrgh, I just bought another Radian today.....

I hope the Radian PRO comes out very very soon.
Not a few weeks before Xmas ..... I can't wait that long....

:-)

#11 southernmd_man Sep 16, 2010 07:30 PM

Somebody at Horizon is going to get a royal reaming....seems the last few weeks they can't keep anything under wraps....

Looks like they boxed it up to return over seas, or to take it out for more field testing. Either way, if this proves to be legit, nice improvements to an already great plane.

#12 lightspeeddud Sep 16, 2010 08:32 PM

yea, bad QA control back at china really screwed everything up

#13 verticalspark Sep 16, 2010 08:35 PM

well horizon denied it of course but we know it exists! And im sure somebody smacked in the head for this one.

#14 lightspeeddud Sep 16, 2010 08:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by verticalspark (Post 16068834)
well horizon denied it of course but we know it exists! And im sure somebody smacked in the head for this one.

ahem Chinese workers

#15 southernmd_man Sep 16, 2010 08:52 PM

Tech support is always outta the loop on things. I called them a few years ago the day the EFlite Sea Fury was released for some info, and they didn't know anything about it or that it was released. When one of the HH chiefs chimes in here, and I'm sure they will, then we'll know something.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.