RC Groups

RC Groups
    Hitec/Multiplex USA
        Question Aurora 9

#1 davew478 Jul 24, 2010 09:18 AM

Aurora 9
 
Can the Hitec FM sythesized RF module be used with the Aurora?

#2 Nathan Schmoekel Jul 24, 2010 10:45 AM

Only the new Spectra Pro FM module will function with the Aruroa...older units will not work.

http://hitecrcd.com/products/transmi...ectra-pro.html

#3 BRENDAN LUGO Jul 26, 2010 09:25 AM

The older modules are not compatable with the Aurora. The Spectrs Pro 72 Mhz synth module will be available in September for the Aurora.

#4 davew478 Jul 28, 2010 10:20 PM

The Spectra Pro 72 Mhz synth module
 
Are you going to have to take the plastic 2.4 module antenna out of the Aurora and screw in a metal antenna for the Spectra Pro module to work?.........Dave

#5 Nathan Schmoekel Jul 29, 2010 07:06 AM

Yup.

turn radio off
snap off the 2.4 antenna
remove the 2.4 modual
unscrew the rest of the 2.4 antenna mount
screw in the metal fm antenna
snap in the fm modual
turn radio back on and select model, freq etc...

It really doesn't take long at all, but it's more than flipping a switch:rolleyes:

Now I have the question: Will the Spectra Pro modual come with the needed antenna?....I'm hoping so since it's specifically for the Aurora, and the radio does not have an FM antenna.

#6 davew478 Jul 29, 2010 07:58 AM

Aurora 9
 
Will the exchange 2.4 module with the built on antenna work on the Aurora?
Then you could leave the metal antenna in. I don`t like the module with the wire dangling for the antenna, it`s just a accident waiting to happen. I would exchange mine for the built on antenna type any day.....Dave

#7 Nathan Schmoekel Jul 29, 2010 08:47 AM

I don't know if that module will fit/work Dave. Dispite the short comming of the dangly bits, I think the Arurora is better off with the "correct" module in place.
I like my planes too much to risk radio hacks. Just my opinion.

I wonder if there is a technical reason that requires the removal of the FM antenna for 2.4 operation?? Perhaps it's designed the way it is for a reason?? More likely it was a clever way to keep dust and dirt out of the un-used antenna hole and keep the traditional look:D

#8 BRENDAN LUGO Jul 29, 2010 09:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by davew478 (Post 15658373)
Will the exchange 2.4 module with the built on antenna work on the Aurora?
Then you could leave the metal antenna in. I don`t like the module with the wire dangling for the antenna, it`s just a accident waiting to happen. I would exchange mine for the built on antenna type any day.....Dave


Yes it will. (it's the same module, it just has a different antenna) To date the "dangling antenna wire" has not been a issue for anyone from a service/repair stand point. Now not paying attention and plugging things in backwards is a different story. :p

#9 davew478 Jul 29, 2010 09:03 AM

Aurora
 
I`m talking about the Hitec 2.4 module they gave you for $29.95 if you sent in your old FM hitec module..... Dave

#10 davew478 Jul 29, 2010 09:13 AM

Don`t get me wrong. I love Hitec. I have spent tons of money on Hitec stuff and the customer service is great at Hitec. You guys have hooked me up and helped me out many times and I`m just about to pull the trigger on a Aurora purchase........Dave

#11 davew478 Jul 29, 2010 02:40 PM

Aurora 9 Synthesized 72MHz Tx & Freedom 9Ch Syn
 
The Hitec Aurora 9 Synthesized 72MHz Tx & Freedom 9Ch Syn that is coming out in Sept. Will it be able to use the Spectra 2.4 module with the antenna mounted to the module?

#12 BRENDAN LUGO Jul 29, 2010 06:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by davew478 (Post 15661303)
The Hitec Aurora 9 Synthesized 72MHz Tx & Freedom 9Ch Syn that is coming out in Sept. Will it be able to use the Spectra 2.4 module with the antenna mounted to the module?

Yes.

#13 davew478 Jul 30, 2010 07:49 PM

Aurora 9
 
Ordered Aurora 9 from Tower crazy discount and free shipping.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.