RC Groups

RC Groups
    R/C Blogs
        Mini-HowTo A 24V power supply from two 12V power supplies.

#1 feathermerchant Dec 25, 2009 07:12 PM

A 24V power supply from two 12V power supplies.
 
Several people that know I sell 12V power supplies have asked about 24V power supplies. Due to the volume of 12V power supplies available because file servers mostly use 12V power supplies, they are really inexpensive and easy to find. 24V power supplies are expensive and hard to find. So I figured our how to put 2 12V power supplies together to make 24V. I am providing this information without warranty because there are many different power supplies out there and I have no idea if it will work on them all. The procedure is relatively simple and safe. I would not recommend anyone doing this until the read the entire directions and feel comfortable with the mod.

The mod required disassembling the power supply then adding some insulating washers under two screws.

To understand what we are doing, it is like putting 2 batteries into a flashlight. Each is 1.5V but put together end to end the result is 3V. The power supplies I use in this example I also sell here:
http://www.feathermerchantrc.com/
The power supply case and ground output are both connected to the grounded prong on the plug. This remains the same. You will isolate the output ground on ONE power supply.

See Post #261 for details:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=261

PS - I am using Hyperion Duos and I have noticed that if I plug in the power supply first, then plug in a Duo, there is a large spark and one power supply shuts down. So I plug in the chargers first the the power cord.

#2 feathermerchant Dec 25, 2009 07:22 PM

24V Power Supply in action
 
5 Attachment(s)
Here are some pics of my test of the power supply. I charged six 6S 5,000 batteries at about 8A at the same time. Worked well until I blew the 8A fuse in my power strip.

My website is:
http://www.feathermerchantrc.com/

I also have some 12V 47A power supplies:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...0#post15179169

And here's a for sale thread on the 42A and 30A supplies:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1051873

#3 ksmith0034 Aug 04, 2010 03:35 PM

I just got my 12V 42A psu today. SUPER fast shipping, thanks!!! I can't wait to charge some 6S 5000mAh lipos now! :D

#4 darkfa8 Sep 09, 2010 09:46 AM

following...

#5 Broken Wings Sep 11, 2010 12:12 PM

Connectors?
 
1 Attachment(s)
Just wondering if there is a Radio Shack connector to plug into the "output" side of this supply?

It looks like some type of spade lug.

#6 bigwood212 Sep 16, 2010 09:26 PM

Hey your ordering page is not working right. Says 45 but comes up on paypal as 50

#7 feathermerchant Sep 16, 2010 10:15 PM

We just changed it earlier. Thy reloading it. It worked for me.
Both the 42 and 47Asupply are now $50 shipped in the US.
There is also a button for Canadian shipping.

#8 bigwood212 Sep 16, 2010 10:21 PM

damnit. waited a day and now i gotta pay. lol

#9 feathermerchant Sep 17, 2010 04:58 AM

Then buy the 42 and say you waited a day and it got cheaper.

#10 bigwood212 Sep 17, 2010 07:36 PM

LOL why was the 42amp more money before anyway?

#11 feathermerchant Sep 17, 2010 09:15 PM

The cost I paid for that batch was higher than the most recent batch I bought.

#12 bigwood212 Sep 17, 2010 10:13 PM

Can you solder on some wires for me? I suck at soldering.

#13 feathermerchant Sep 17, 2010 11:47 PM

Yup. I have done that for several guys here.

#14 Brill 1 Sep 23, 2010 06:55 PM

Can you still pull 12 volts from the supplies, or is it 24 volts only?

Brill

#15 feathermerchant Sep 23, 2010 07:15 PM

Yes ou can pull 12 and 24. Remember that the limiting factor will be the total amps.
So if you're pulling 20A from the 24V and 15A from the 12V that's 35A total.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.