PDA

View Full Version : Rant Modelshipmaster.com - Crooks of the highest order!


Habanero
Mar 26, 2009, 07:23 PM
Over 6 months ago I contracted this company to build a custom mahogany speedboat – my girlfriend had purchased it for me as a gift.

6 months later they had given me every excuse in the book as to why they were unable to produce the model.

First it was because they wanted to test it on the water and get a video for me- I told them not to bother then they said they had changed shipping companies (the model was coming from Europe). Over a month later nothing then they said it was caught in customs- another month goes by.

Finally they said they would refund my $$ and I should give them my address. I did so and that was over 20 days ago. They will not answer emails anymore and no longer answer the phone.

No doubt what they did was take my money to prop up the crumbling facade that was their business OR they simply sold the boat twice once to me and then sold it again to someone else when it came in.

Needless to say I doubt my girlfriend and I will ever see the 1K again. They are probably declaring bankruptcy at this moment. We have taken on a lawyer.

I have ordered form other companies- I have purchased models from individuals but I had NO apprehension at all about these guys if you look at the site and their history they seemed pretty reputable.

W.L Upshaw
Mar 26, 2009, 11:19 PM
The address they post is not far from me, maybe when I get back from the Toledo show, I could swing by and see what kind of operation they have going there.

Kmot
Mar 26, 2009, 11:30 PM
You have a genuine problem. They have a "F" rating with the Better Business Bureau:

http://www.labbb.org/BusinessReport.aspx?CompanyID=100042389

Here is what the address looks like on Windows Live Local:

avidjeepr
Mar 26, 2009, 11:45 PM
Never deal with a company that has an unlisted number. ;)

der kapitan
Mar 26, 2009, 11:55 PM
People like this give legitimate dealers a bad name.

Kmot
Mar 26, 2009, 11:56 PM
Hmmmm, they list a phone number and say they have an open art store in Laguna Beach:

If you are in California, stop by Model Ship Master's beautiful gallery in Laguna Beach. Storefront prices are substantially higher, though. If you don't see one you are looking for, drop us an email or call 866 ART 1 ART. Remember also that Model Ship Master can build ANY models you want.

More:

CONTACT US

Thank you for visiting Model Ship Master. We appreciate your business. Please let us know how we can assist you.

Email: services@modelshipmaster.com

Toll free: (866) 278 1278. Please leave a message if your call is not answered. We are very busy with model construction and sometimes can not pick up the phone quickly enough.



And further, typical of business' who are 'shady' they hide their website domain info by going through a proxy:

Domain name: MODELSHIPMASTER.COM


Administrative Contact:
contactprivacy.com, modelshipmaster.com@contactprivacy.com
96 Mowat Ave
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA
+1.4165385457
Technical Contact:
contactprivacy.com, modelshipmaster.com@contactprivacy.com
96 Mowat Ave
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA
+1.4165385457

And it appears that their art gallery in Laguna Beach does not exist either:

http://yellowpages.superpages.com/listings.jsp?sid=12213&S=CA&search=Find+It&T=laguna+beach&PG=L&SRC=comwp&C=Model+Ship+Master%27s&R=N&STYPE=S

Not listed under art galleries in Laguna Beach either:

http://yellowpages.superpages.com/listings.jsp?SRC=comwp&CS=L&MCBP=true&STYPE=&CB=1&C=&CID=00000518939&cbdt=Art+Galleries&E=&L=laguna+beach%2C+ca&A=&X=&P=&AXP=&search=Find+It&PS=45&PI=0

Aerominded
Mar 27, 2009, 12:01 AM
"...Remember also that Model Ship Master can build ANY models you want..."



Ew, yucky!!! :eek:

der kapitan
Mar 27, 2009, 12:11 AM
Thanks, Tom, I see that none of the sites listed show their actual location---.

Habanero
Mar 27, 2009, 01:10 AM
If you look at the site they say they sold to Nicolas Cage and various museums etc I mean that could all be verified- at least those people would not want suspect organizations using them for endorsments it never occured to me that the site was not legit.

green-boat
Mar 27, 2009, 03:15 AM
Lee Upshaw knows the kind of people I have available to deal with jerks like this---.

It isn't inside the law, and it isn't pretty, but it gets results---.
Is that picture next time going to show a burned out hulk? :rolleyes:

der kapitan
Mar 27, 2009, 09:34 AM
No Phil, results, not revenge---.

steamboatmodel
Mar 27, 2009, 10:12 AM
Hmmmm, they list a phone number and say they have an open art store in Laguna Beach:

If you are in California, stop by Model Ship Master's beautiful gallery in Laguna Beach. Storefront prices are substantially higher, though. If you don't see one you are looking for, drop us an email or call 866 ART 1 ART. Remember also that Model Ship Master can build ANY models you want.

More:

CONTACT US

Thank you for visiting Model Ship Master. We appreciate your business. Please let us know how we can assist you.

Email: services@modelshipmaster.com

Toll free: (866) 278 1278. Please leave a message if your call is not answered. We are very busy with model construction and sometimes can not pick up the phone quickly enough.



And further, typical of business' who are 'shady' they hide their website domain info by going through a proxy:

Domain name: MODELSHIPMASTER.COM


Administrative Contact:
contactprivacy.com, modelshipmaster.com@contactprivacy.com
96 Mowat Ave
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA
+1.4165385457
Technical Contact:
contactprivacy.com, modelshipmaster.com@contactprivacy.com
96 Mowat Ave
Toronto, ON M6K 3M1
CA
+1.4165385457

And it appears that their art gallery in Laguna Beach does not exist either:

http://yellowpages.superpages.com/listings.jsp?sid=12213&S=CA&search=Find+It&T=laguna+beach&PG=L&SRC=comwp&C=Model+Ship+Master%27s&R=N&STYPE=S

Not listed under art galleries in Laguna Beach either:

http://yellowpages.superpages.com/listings.jsp?SRC=comwp&CS=L&MCBP=true&STYPE=&CB=1&C=&CID=00000518939&cbdt=Art+Galleries&E=&L=laguna+beach%2C+ca&A=&X=&P=&AXP=&search=Find+It&PS=45&PI=0

Here is the Google Maps for 96 Mowat Ave,
http://maps.google.com/maps?q=Toronto,on&ll=43.620915,-79.475870&spn=0.006824,0.008776&t=k&hl=en
The Phone # comes up on 411.ca as

(416) 538-5457 is a land line based in Toronto, On, ON
The registered service provider is Bell Canada**.
Detailed listing information is not available.

When I phone the number I get Contact Privacy and they tell you to go to contactprivacy.com
They appear to be a Domain Name seller.
There is no Model Ship Master Company listed in Toronto.
Regards,
Gerald

Habanero
Mar 27, 2009, 11:06 AM
Google tags:
Fraud
Misrepresentation
Con
Fake Site
Review
Consumer report

charlie eaton
Mar 27, 2009, 11:07 AM
This must be a branch of AIG and run by lawyers.

Habanero
Mar 27, 2009, 12:08 PM
I have fled a complaint with the Los Angeles District Attorneys office.

Contacted Barbara Streisand's publicist LOL.

Gave them reviews on several consumer websites (including BBB)

Just getting started...

herrmill
Mar 27, 2009, 05:56 PM
Good luck! Something about that company has always smelled to me.. I inquired about their Zheng He model several years ago & decided it wasn't worth taking out a 2nd mortgage to buy it.

Habanero
May 28, 2009, 09:47 AM
Bank of America Is Awesome!!!

After 7 months they reversed the charge. The slimebags did not get away with it! :D

Typically 6 months is the cutoff time for such requests- no doubt modelshipmaster counted on this which is why they stalled that long- they thought they were in the clear. :p

I thought this quote from their site is rich:

"All fraudulent activities will be reported directly to FBI and local law enforcement."

This is the only disappointing thing about the outcome really- is that pressing charges may be considered superfluous- although I am still persuing it. Any potential customer (victim) who looks beyond the first Google search page will see my posts and hopefully be forewarned- at least that gives me some satisfaction.

woodybob
May 28, 2009, 10:36 AM
Sweet... :D

Ghost 2501
May 28, 2009, 10:50 AM
sounds like someone has openned the floodgates for lawsuits here :D and i think modelshipmaster is about to get the sharp end of a lawyers business.

F rating by the better business bureau
f for :censored:!!

Habanero
May 29, 2009, 12:53 AM
I still want to know if that shop is open... would be worth a drive down there just to gloat in thier faces.